The Weaver (PDF)

review ✓ eBook, ePUB or Kindle PDF Ô Emmi Itäranta

review ✓ eBook, ePUB or Kindle PDF Ô Emmi Itäranta Summary The Weaver 108 Ate in her hand As Eliana finds herself growing closer to this injured girl she is bound to in ways she doesn’t understand the enchanting lies of the island begin to crumble revealing a deep and ancient corruption Joining a band of brave rebels determined to expose the island’s dark secrets Eliana becomes a target of ruthless forces determined to destroy her To save herself and those she loves she must call on the power within her she thought was her greatest weakness her dreams. An enchanting tale of love and resistance Unexpectedly tender and heartfelt the story swept me away Itaranta has crafted a world of intrigue that both defies and embraces the many dystopian tropes weaving a story with a pattern uite unlike any other The world is ready to drown The world is ready to rise The synopsis describes the plot in barren terms The protagonist Eliana is a young weaver in The House of Webs where a spider like Goddess is worshiped and she does meet a mysterious young woman who has had her tongue cut out and Eliana s name tattooed on her skin But the synopsis speaks of networks of power and a drowning city like those are the focus of the story When it is Eliana s internal struggles which are explored in most depth Her developing relationship with the woman who cannot speak the secrets she hides and the secrets she uncovers are the focus of the book And throughout there are beautifully nuanced characters most of them women Our hours are brief and our days are brittle and the marks our hands leave on the world belong to us There is a wonderful dream like uality to The City of Woven Streets or The Weaver as it is known in the US The regular chapters are occasionally interspersed with 2 pages of sentences which forgo regular punctuation and structure They evoke the night time or fever induced visions of a wandering mind and help to build an atmosphere between fantasy and reality The sky has begun to fade into the colours of smoke and roses The writing evokes some rather startling images eschewing clich in favour of brief description that are so vivid I had to close my eyes for a moment just to let them sink in Though the plot does drag a little at times the mood and descriptions of the Island kept me floating along with the story we are pebbles on a wide and far stretching shore not the moon that will turn the tide The City of Woven Streets could easily have been a typical dystopian story with a tyrannical government placing strange restrictions on the life of the population Yet through a combination of unusual language choices and focus on character it manages to avoid feeling tired Only the wounds of the dead do not scar I really enjoyed this book the first I have read by a Finnish writer It has given me much to think about and the haunting image of the Island continue to linger in my mind

characters The Weaver

The Weaver

review ✓ eBook, ePUB or Kindle PDF Ô Emmi Itäranta Summary The Weaver 108 The author of the critically acclaimed Memory of Water returns with this literary ecological tale in the vein of Ursula K Le Guin and Sheri S Tepper in which an innocent young woman becomes entangled in a web of ancient secrets and deadly lies that lie at the dark center of her prosperous island worldEliana is a model citizen of the island a weaver in the prestigious House of Webs She also harbors a dangerous secret she can dream an ability forbidden by the island’s elusive counci. I am probably too tired to write a coherent review having travelled across Europe by train for twelve hours after five hours sleep Nonetheless I ll give it the old college try I enjoyed The City of Woven Streets than Itaranta s previous novel Memory of Water which I liked but found frustrating Her latest has of a fantasy atmosphere whereas her previous was explicitly post climate catastrophe science fiction The City of Woven Streets is also arguably sci fi but set in a distant enough future and containing enough fantastical elements that it felt like reading fantasy This seemed better suited to Itaranta s lyrical writing style which I can imagine might appeal to some than others I appreciate it once I get used to it although at first it seems to occlude meaning somewhat The reader gets a strong sense of atmosphere from the start however it takes longer to establish who the narrator is and what is actually happening Eliana s first person narration of Eliana does carry the reader along though and after about fifty pages I was carried away by the characters and story I do love that the majority of main characters are women with an interesting range of perspectives motivations and ethnicities The world building is also excellent this was a great strength of Memory of Water tooThere are two major things I also want to discuss one that I greatly approve of and another I m rather critical of but both are massive spoilers view spoilerFirst the good Memory of Water depicts a close friendship between two women that seemed ambiguously romantic to me Don t get me wrong I greatly enjoy female friendships in fiction That one seemed oddly ambiguous though which contributed to the overall rather insubstantial and ephemeral nature of the book As Eliana s connection to the mysterious Valeria developed I wondered if this was to be of the same But no Here the relationship turns romantic and sexual which remains extremely rare in fantasy and sci fi I grew rather invested in Eliana and Valeria as their love is beautifully depicted and the narrative delights in separating endangering and fake killing them Although it is poetically vague enough to be interpreted otherwise I choose to assume that the ending is happy and they re safe together On the subject of the ending I am critical I was disconcerted by the twist basically a deus ex machina that Eliana has magic powers Perhaps I failed to pick up on hints but this seemed to come out of nowhere I liked the awareness of a long term secret revolutionary conspiracy to uncover the truth about the oppressive anti dreaming regime and their use of tattoos for control Eliana s suddenly awakened mutant powers I m not sure how else to describe them fitted oddly with these political machinations Also it was a shame that Valeria was unable to communicate her views due to being mute I wanted to know what she thought of this peculiar turn of events Perhaps such a deus ex machina ending bothered me because I delight in trying to find allegorical meaning within dystopian fiction In this case the dystopia is uite stylised however there is some interesting stuff about biopower caste type systems and environmental degradation I m don t really know what to make of the ending though It felt odd and abrupt hide spoiler

review ✓ eBook, ePUB or Kindle PDF Ô Emmi Itäranta

review ✓ eBook, ePUB or Kindle PDF Ô Emmi Itäranta Summary The Weaver 108 L of elders No one talks about the dreamers the undesirables ostracized from societyBut the web of protection Eliana has woven around herself begins to unravel when a young girl is found lying unconscious in a pool of blood on the stones outside the house Robbed of speech by her attackers the only clue to her identity is one word tattooed in invisible ink across her palm Eliana Why does this mysterious girl bear her name What links her to the weaver and how can she hold Eliana’s f. 4 to 45 stars In all honesty I felt a little lost during first 75 pages but once I got into the story I adored this This is not a perfect book but Emmi It ranta s gorgeous writingstyle beautifully vivid worldbuilding and original story made this a fantastic experience for me I m going to let this sink in properly but will definitely write a indepth review soon RTC


10 thoughts on “The Weaver (PDF)

  1. says: The Weaver (PDF)

    Emmi Itäranta Ô 8 Summary review ✓ eBook, ePUB or Kindle PDF Ô Emmi Itäranta The Weaver (PDF) ''This night is different Sleep is thin in the house because strange blood is drying on the stones of the suare'' What is left when even the ability to dream literally is considered a crime? And even worse when

  2. says: characters The Weaver The Weaver (PDF) review ✓ eBook, ePUB or Kindle PDF Ô Emmi Itäranta

    The Weaver (PDF) ♥ Huh huh siis huh huh

  3. says: The Weaver (PDF)

    The Weaver (PDF) I am probably too tired to write a coherent review having travelled across Europe by train for twelve hours after five hours sleep Nonetheless

  4. says: characters The Weaver The Weaver (PDF)

    review ✓ eBook, ePUB or Kindle PDF Ô Emmi Itäranta Emmi Itäranta Ô 8 Summary characters The Weaver 4 to 45 stars In all honesty I felt a little lost during first 75 pages but once I got into the story I adored this This is not a perfect book but Emmi Itäranta's gorgeous writingstyle beautifully vivid worldbuilding and original story made this a fantastic experience for me I'm going to let this sink in proper

  5. says: characters The Weaver Emmi Itäranta Ô 8 Summary review ✓ eBook, ePUB or Kindle PDF Ô Emmi Itäranta

    The Weaver (PDF) Emmi Itäranta Ô 8 Summary 35 starsI'm so happy that I gave this book a chanceIt's a Finnish fantasydystopian novel about an island slowly sinking into the sea

  6. says: Emmi Itäranta Ô 8 Summary review ✓ eBook, ePUB or Kindle PDF Ô Emmi Itäranta The Weaver (PDF)

    The Weaver (PDF) characters The Weaver An atmospheric fantasy that serves up a frustration of characters and world buildingEliana is a young weaver in the House of Weavers one of several craft houses on an island where dreaming is forbidden Eliana can dream though which makes her incredibly nervous when a voiceless young woman turns up at the House with a tattoo of Eliana's name on her handIt's difficult to say about this because Eliana is so sheltered and passive s

  7. says: characters The Weaver The Weaver (PDF)

    The Weaver (PDF) It's strange how books choose you I recently spent some days in Finland which had been my dream for years From day one I was looking for some beautiful Finnish literature to take home with me when the time came to go back

  8. says: characters The Weaver The Weaver (PDF) Emmi Itäranta Ô 8 Summary

    Emmi Itäranta Ô 8 Summary The Weaver (PDF) An enchanting tale of love and resistance Unexpectedly tender and heartfelt the story swept me away Itaranta has crafted a world of intrigue that both defies and embraces the many dystopian tropes weaving a story with a pattern uite unlike any other “The world is ready to drown The world is ready to rise” The synopsi

  9. says: The Weaver (PDF)

    review ✓ eBook, ePUB or Kindle PDF Ô Emmi Itäranta Emmi Itäranta Ô 8 Summary characters The Weaver I wanted to love this book so much And there were a lot of things in it that I loved the descriptions of the island the exuisite language the main character But then there were things that I did not love the overall plot the ending how it felt like the story is stuck in place It took me a long time to get into the story for it to get going at all and once it finally did it felt like it ended all too abruptly with very little explanation

  10. says: review ✓ eBook, ePUB or Kindle PDF Ô Emmi Itäranta The Weaver (PDF) Emmi Itäranta Ô 8 Summary

    The Weaver (PDF) Emmi Itäranta creates such wonderful worlds and places a female hero front and center First in Memory of Water and now in thisEliana doesn't waste time with irrelevant worries She's got plenty of all too relevant ones to worry aboutI am rather in readerly love with Itärata's style It's consistent and creative She has a way of portraying a horrible reality but having a thread of bright hope run throughout view spoilerW

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

  • Paperback
  • 320
  • The Weaver
  • Emmi Itäranta
  • en
  • 11 July 2019
  • 9780062326171